June 13, 2021

Isah Mustapha re-emerge as President, Nigerian Guild of Editors

By allcitynews.ng

The Nigerian Guild of Editors (NGE) Monday night re-elected Comrade Mustapha Isa to oversee its affairs for the next two years.

Isa defeated the outgoing Secretary, Comrade Victoria Ibanga in the hot contested election, by 176 to 54 votes.

Announcing the outcome of the results, the Chairman, Screening and Election Committee, Comrade Bonnie Iwuoha said Comrade Ali M. Ali, was returned unopposed as the Deputy President, Comrade Kila Habibu Nuhu, was elected unopposed as Vice President (North), while Comrade Iyobosa Uwugiaren also emerged unopposed as General Secretary.

The final results also showed that Comrade Samuel Egbala was elected Vice President (East) after he secured 132 votes against a distant runner-up Comrade Sheddy Ozoene who polled 88 votes.

Comrade Bolaji Adebiyi emerged as VP (West) after polling 132 votes against his challenger Comrade Ken Ugbechie who secured 80 votes.

Comrade Austeen Elewodalu was elected as Assistant General Secretary with 126 votes against Comrade Rose Moses who polled 82 votes.

Comrade Steve Nwosu defeated all his opponents with 150 votes to emerge as Treasurer, over Comrade Catherine Agbo 51 votes and Comrade Juliet Njiowhor 26 votes.

Vanguard Editor, Comrade Eze Anaba, defeated his sole challenger, Comrade Chooks Oko after polling 164 votes to 53 to emerge as Social/Publicity Secretary.

Standing Committee Members elected at the biennial conference included for the West: Comrade Gabriel Akinadewo 174 votes, Comrade Onuoha Ukeh 174 vote and Comrade Wole Sogunle 172 votes.

Comrade Umoru Ibrahim led the members for the North Standing Committee with 202 votes, Comrade Adesina Gbenga 113 votes, while Comrade Imoni Amarere got 99 votes.

However, Comrade Nguwoke Nguwoke and Comrade Boma Nwuke were returned unopposed respectively as Standing Committee Members for the East.